Bri Colorful

Blooming!

Posted on: June 2, 2012

Tomato blossoms:

20120602-195949.jpg

I can’t remember if this is squash or cucumber:

20120602-200031.jpg

We also put tomato cages on our plants (that we started from seed- so proud of these) and laid soaker hoses, pinning them down with Orbit loop stakes:

20120602-200235.jpg

The peas and beans at the base of my green teepee are really taking off. Do you think I’ll need to thin them though or will they still produce even if I let them go a little crazy?

20120602-201448.jpg

So excited for these plants!

Super bummed though about these strawberries though:

We think it must be either tarnished plant bug which I am somewhat hopeless of curing (though open to suggestion) or that there might be some problem with the strawberries getting fertilized by each other. I must thank my friend Dana Nash and my sister’s horticulture professor respectively for the diagnoses. It could very well be TPB because we have wild mint (a common TPB host) growing in our driveway. But I couldn’t see any of the little critters on my plants… Hmm.

Now I open it to you to suggest a solution. Anyone know what to do? I’m going to try taking a clipping to the master gardener at the Utah county extension center but I’d appreciate any help with diagnosis or solutions. I’ve not given up to despair for my little berries yet though I’m earnest for their revival. Also, does anyone know, if it is either of the above problem, if it will affect my other plants nearby?

1 Response to "Blooming!"

My strawberries are worse so I’m no help — but WHAT A THRILL to see you babies growing up left and right!!!!!!! You EARNED it!

Leave a Reply

Photo of Bri

Follow me on Facebook

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

I'm a Mormon.

The Drawing Board (i.e. my Tweets)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

