Bri Colorful

Bri Colorful

Posted on: March 8, 2010

It is my new mantra you could say, in the same vein as the “Bri-attitudes.” You know them: bri meek, bri merciful, bri pure. . . from the New Testament in Matthew 5. President Hinckley even added a few of his own to the mix in his 2001 message, “A Prophet’s Counsel and Prayer for Youth” – bri grateful, bri smart, bri clean, bri true, bri humble, and bri prayerful.  I was a youth at the time that talk was given, and as you can see, I have tried to make these attributes my own though with varied successes.

To me, “bri-ing colorful” means filling my crayon box with as many colors as possible, coloring outside the lines a little and not worrying about the grade. It means appreciating God’s artwork around me, which is often all-too-visible in my loved ones, in my associates, and in all His creations; artistry that I somehow overlook as time blurs past me. I think it is long past time that I share the scribbles of my journey of bri-coming Apprentice-Artisan to that Master- Artist of our souls.

More than English (which is my declared major at Brigham Young University), I am learning that, just as we have to edit and revise each draft of an essay carefully before it clearly conveys our message, so our lives require revision, rearrangement, and refocusing in order to reach our full potential and become what God would have us bri-come. I want to share with you these cautiously crafted drafts in hopes that, as we share the colors and the conceits of our lives, each individual piece will benefit the other until they all interweave into a larger work of art. So follow me as I brush the first tentative strokes of what God intends to be a Masterpiece!

3 Responses to "Bri Colorful"

Beautiful! I love the idea of filling your crayon box with many colors and sometimes coloring outside the lines. I also love appreciating the Master Artist. He sure did paint a beautiful sunset for me yesterday. I can’t wait to watch what you bri-come and thus be edified and hopefully be improved myself. 🙂

Bri darling! As I told you, I love the blend of color, creating, values, art and faith! LOVE YOU!

I miss you Bri. I am so glad you started this blog!

Leave a Reply

Photo of Bri

Follow me on Facebook

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

I'm a Mormon.

The Drawing Board (i.e. my Tweets)

