Bri Colorful

Great

Posted on: June 6, 2010

“We cannot gauge the worth of another soul any more than we can measure the span of the universe. Every person we meet is a VIP to our Heavenly Father. Once we understand that, we can begin to understand how we should treat our fellowmen.” — Elder Uchtdorf

I want to always give others the benefit of the doubt that I hope they give me. The more I learn, the less I realize I know. The world judges us by so many things: our looks, our education, our employment, etc. None of these are true measures of our worth. Each of you is infinite in your worth; I am infinite in my worth . . . no matter what.

7 Responses to "Great"

Beautiful thoughts Bri. Reminded me of “judge not, for with the same judgement that ye judge, ye shall also be judged”

I’ve applied that same scripture to forgiveness. When I’m having a hard time forgiving someone for something (esp if it’s small) I think about my judgement day and how I want to be forgiven. It’s very humbling.

Amen.

My biggest problem of late has been measuring my worth based on what I observe of others (ie comparing). And it’s unfair to everyone to compare. I can and should only compare myself to myself–to help me improve and “rise to the great potential within [me]” (Pres. Uchtdorf). But no matter how much room I have for improvement, it still has no effect on the fact that I am of great worth. And I always will be.

Thank you for this reminder.

Thank you for what you said. It reminds me of something I heard that majorly humbled me in Book of Mormon class.

President Ezra Taft Benson said: The proud make every man their adversary by pitting their intellects, opinions, works, wealth, talents, or any other worldly measuring device against others. In the words of C. S. Lewis: “Pride gets no pleasure out of having something, only out of having more of it than the next man. … It is the comparison that makes you proud: the pleasure of being above the rest. Once the element of competition has gone, pride has gone.”

It seems strange to me to think that when I envy other people for their looks or lives, I am exhibiting pride. When I think I am of less worth because another seems to have more of something (or less of something undesirable), I am showing ingratitude for all the I have that could so easily be taken away. I am proudly stating that I want and can have what they possess. You’re right. It’s harsh, both on ourselves and others, to compare.

It’s a blessing to have the knowledge that we are still precious, each and every life is precious, no matter what we can improve upon. It helps me to love others and form sweet friendships where judgement might’ve otherwise reigned.

Good reminder. Thanks so much.

I tried to teach my kids that every soul is bigger, deeper and more intricate than the entire universe. I still need to reminders of that fact myself – we all do. I LOVE YOU!

It’s something I think we spend our whole lives learning and relearning. It’s the most important lesson. Charity never faileth. Love is the first and greatest commandment. Love God. Love others. I just keep coming back to that.

Leave a Reply

Photo of Bri

Follow me on Facebook

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

I'm a Mormon.

The Drawing Board (i.e. my Tweets)

