Bri Colorful

Let’s All Sing Like the Birdies Sing

Posted on: September 28, 2010

I’ve been testing out lots of new social media sites for my digital civ course, and I decided to join my own peeps to the myriads of other voices all tweeting and twitering about their interests and activities online. If that was a little too cryptic for you, I’ve made a Twitter account. I must admit I was surprised at all that the site had to offer me. I started following organizations whose sites I’ve checked on for years: the National Association for the Deaf, that National Cued Speech Association, and Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, as well as following people who’s blogs interest me and topics that appeal to me like home schooling and editing.

It seems like a little much to me though (maybe it’s all just overwhelming at first) to have a facebook, a blog (and reader), email, social bookmarking, a twitter account and the myriads of other social media available to us. There’s no way I could keep up with it all. I guess you have to learn to pick and choose what works best for you. What do you prefer? What social media sites have worked best for you and why?

10 Responses to "Let’s All Sing Like the Birdies Sing"

I joined Twitter to have more chances winning giveaways. I rarely use it. It’s still pointless to me – maybe if I was an uber serious blogger/small business trying to gain a big following? But then again, maybe not. Also, brevity is not my strong suit, so the 140 character limit and I battle constantly.

ha ha. I’m with you on the brevity thing.

I like Facebook best because that’s where I can find most of my friends. It’s the easiest way for me to keep up with my friends and family who live out of state. I tried a myspace also and found that I didn’t like it at all. I don’t know what it was about myspace but Facebook just seemed better for me. I haven’t ever tried a twitter but that’s because it seems pointless to me. Everything that twitter has I can do on Facebook.

I think Twitter might be better for finding organizations you can ally yourself with whereas facebook is more of a social avenue but I see your point. For most people in our generation, Facebook seems the most popular option.

I agree. Twitter is just one too many for me. It feels like I have so precious little time to really THINK and ponder and keeping up with Twitter sucks even more of that precious time away. I much prefer staying focused on the here and now and the people I am with. THEN – when I can – I sit down and DEVOTE myself to really COMMUNICATING via emails, via my own blog, and via reading other’s blogs and commenting. Facebook can also be an appropriate tool for staying in TOUCH (not so much communication) with others I guess. But Twitter??? It works for some I know, but to me, it’s like too many birds singing at the same time – overload.

I giggled outloud with glee at your extension of my analogy! Thank you! You get it!! 🙂

I think there’s a delicate balance with all this new technology and I haven’t quite reached it yet because my work (school AND job) require me to use it so much. Twitter seems way off balance too me. Too much information and not well filtered. At least that’s my first impression.

I had a Twitter account for a few months to keep me up with what’s out there (for job reasons). But I rarely got on, and the people or organizations that I followed typically posted every few hours (or even minutes!). It started to really annoy me, and I couldn’t keep up. I’d still love to have a Twitter account for work, but we’re not allowed. I figured having accounts with Facebook, YouTube, GoodReads, and pbworks and trying to keep up with 7 blogs will be plenty for me for some time!

You have SEVEN blogs?! I can barely keep up with one. 🙂 How do you do it? 🙂

Well, a couple have kind of fallen off a bit since my new position at work. But I always wanted to be a writer, I think I express myself better with writing, and I don’t feel I know what’s going on with me mentally, spiritually, or emotionally until I write. I needed easy access. And, being who I am, I needed different “categories” to write in. Thus, 7. 🙂

I am on twitter too, but find I don’t know how to really use it in a productive way like others do. It was very fun to follow #ldsconf this weekend though.

Leave a Reply

Photo of Bri

Follow me on Facebook

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

I'm a Mormon.

The Drawing Board (i.e. my Tweets)

