Bri Colorful

Left Behind

Posted on: October 7, 2010

For my sister, Kristi

The sparkling sun warmed the shallows on the shore as, carefree, we constructed castles. We imagined ourselves heroes, saving our people from the monstrous waves. Lost in dreams, I looked up to find my fellow explorer gone. I spied you slumbering peacefully on a raft that had drifted from the water’s edge to the middle of the lake. No matter how I pushed against the waves, I could not reach you. My cries were drowned in the crashing of the waves. I didn’t know how to swim.

You slept on.

4 Responses to "Left Behind"

That is beautiful and very haunting.

Yikes. I am a little scared.

It’s an experience from my childhood. I honestly didn’t realize how chilling it was when I wrote it.

In tribute to Wordsworth (minus the meter and much of the cleverness), I had to write about an experience from my youth from which I might be able to derive some universal truth (and do so in ten minutes). Any guesses as to what the truth is? (hint: the title).

Woah. Very very haunting. The first time I read it, I was like, hey what are you trying to say? I haven’t left you in any way now have I? And then in the comments I read that you were talking about the childhood experience and I had to read it again. Very symbolic…I never thought of it that way. Love it. 🙂
Though…the truth…childhood left you behind…? Or am I projecting there? Lol

Leave a Reply

Photo of Bri

Follow me on Facebook

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

I'm a Mormon.

The Drawing Board (i.e. my Tweets)

