Bri Colorful

Final Frontier

Posted on: October 13, 2010

There is no such thing as a final frontier. Really. I heard once in a history class that after there was no more to explore of America, space became the new “final frontier”. I hypothesize that there is no end to the finding of frontiers. There’s too much to explore on the mircro and macroscopic levels. For example, a friend posted the video below on her blog earlier this month and it was all I could do to keep from hopping up and down with excitement at the crazy things we’ve yet to explore beneath the oceans surface.

Many of you have probably also seen videos similar to the one below which show both the incomprehensible immensity of our universe and the smallest known components which just keep getting smaller. Honestly, I did try to find the shortest version of this video, but that meant the strangest techno-epic music. I apologize.

And then we have the internet which is beyond reasoning in it’s size, like a monster out of control that we are trying to understand and organize into our own purposes. Here’s a great video on the forseeable future of the internet. I don’t see a final frontier in sight. Do you?

3 Responses to "Final Frontier"

So interesting where you took that thought. I’ve thought about the expanse from the great universe to the tiniest quark, but now expand that to the internet. So interesting. I think you are right that the final frontier isn’t in sight yet.

This all gives me tears and tingles.

Isn’t it interesting that God has revealed just enough information on all of these frontiers to spark our curiosity, then leaves us to the fun of figuring out so much for ourselves – the thrill of exploration and discovery.

I would have to say the VERY VERY LAST frontier is the human heart, meaning the soul. Science will never nail down that one.

[…] from this historical period. Another example of my focus on a theme from this class is my post on Turner’s Frontier thesis. I’ve written about events from the course too in my post about the atomic […]

Leave a Reply

Photo of Bri

Follow me on Facebook

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

I'm a Mormon.

The Drawing Board (i.e. my Tweets)

