Bri Colorful

What a Nutter

Posted on: November 1, 2010

Much like my reaction the first time I heard Freud’s theories, my initial reaction to Carl Jung when I heard his theories in class was “what a nutter.”  But his theories apply fairly well to literature. In one of my literary criticism classes, we applied Jung’s theories about archetypes to Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight. Then again … maybe he was a nutter. 🙂

He basically says  myths, dreams, and stories alway present a societal problem/ theme. They aren’t just created by the artist or storyteller; they actually represent recurring themes. They are always full of what he calls archetypal images. My teacher explained archetypes as instinctual, unconscious patterns that we represent (consciously) in images. An archetype’s presence represents the possibility of significance. We often reject or repress this significance consciously, but it is still there. For example, (in light of it being November 1st and thus the start of the holiday season) Ebenezer Scrooge might be an archetypal image of a unconscious pattern of greed.

In my criticism class, we tried to determine if Edward (the vampire from Twilight) followed the archetypal patterns of a byronic hero and if Bella could be compared to the true archetype of a feminist. If I remember correctly, Edward was more of a byronic hero than Bella was a feminist (she professes to be feminist but then ends up giving in to most of Edward’s demands, unlike a true feminist). For the best example of what a byronic hero and feminist look like together, I suggest reading (or watching one of the fabulous renditions of) Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. Jane is the classic archetypal feminist (and my favorite character in literature so far).

Here’s an example of the coolest feminist hero ever paired with the most dashing Byronic hero:

7 Responses to "What a Nutter"

Toby Stephens version is THE best Jane Eyre adaptation!!! And I love this scene!

To fully appreciate Freud and Jung, I had to remember what they contributed to the psychology/psychiatry overall: Mind and body cannot always be scientifically represented. Sometimes we must look for explanations in other things besides physical evidence.

But, on the whole, Freud was a nutter and Jung was his follower. ; )

wow- i want to see the rest of the movie you tease. :p

“Did any of you ever think that along about the time the notion of a SOUL gave out, Freud popped up with the EGO to take its place? The timing of the man! Did he not pause to reflect? Irresponsible old coot! It is my belief that men must spout this twaddle about egos, because they fear they have no soul! Think upon it!” (Will Thisbee in”The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society”, A Novel by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows)

[…] about many of these themes, events, and people and their works. For example, I wrote a post about Jung and his theories and connected them with modern literature; I wrote about a post about Charles Babbage’s […]

Great post. I’m an assistant clinical psychologist – my last post I put Scrooge on the couch even then Jungian archetypes appeared, http://mrtaurus.wordpress.com/

Really interesting read. You should read An Interpretation Of Murder (It’s based on Freuds visit to america and has Jung as a charachter too!)

thanks mrtaurus! I LOVED your post and I’ll have to pick that book up over this Christmas break. I’ll also have to read Dickens again now that I’ve read your analysis of Scrooge! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Photo of Bri

Follow me on Facebook

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

I'm a Mormon.

The Drawing Board (i.e. my Tweets)

