Bri Colorful

Digital Coordination

Posted on: November 3, 2010

Today my Romantic Poetry professor assigned us to meet in groups outside of class to work on a project together. My four other classmates and I were trying to fix on a time to meet together and getting nowhere. Everyone’s schedules seemed so hectic.

I remembered I had recently read about a feature of Google Calendar that allowed you to coordinate events with other people by finding the empty spots in everyone’s calendar. So I suggested since we were having such a tricky time coming up with a time we were all free, that we try it out with our group.

Here’s what I did:

I went to my main google calendar (the one named after me that Google automatically gives you) and blocked off all the times when I was unavailable. I emailed my group members and asked them to do the same and share those calendars with me.  Then I clicked “create event” from the home screen of my calendar.

I clicked the “find a time” tab so that I could pick a time when all my group members were available.

I added the details of my event and added guests (they have to share their calendars with you).  

After that all I had to do was hit save and my event was created. I’m still waiting for my group members to share their calendars with me, but when they do (if I understand correctly) Google calendar will find a time when we are all free and suggest that for our meeting time. Yay for technology and making life easier!

If you’ve used this feature of Google Calendar before and have suggestions, let me know in the comments!

2 Responses to "Digital Coordination"

I’ve never even heard of this feature! Thanks for the step-by-step instructions!! I know it will help me in the future.

Google seems to have a partial monopoly on everything cool. Let’s try google calendar for our final project, except I’m unsure what we would do at the meeting.

Leave a Reply

Photo of Bri

Follow me on Facebook

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16 other followers

I'm a Mormon.

The Drawing Board (i.e. my Tweets)

